iorewalta.blogg.se

Anki app iphone reddit
Anki app iphone reddit













anki app iphone reddit
  1. #Anki app iphone reddit how to
  2. #Anki app iphone reddit android
  3. #Anki app iphone reddit download

Simply put, a cloze deletion-style flashcard is one in which a part of the card is blacked out and asked on active recall. I confess, I don’t know if Anki was the first program to come up with cloze deletions, but it was where I first came across this strange word and concept. Front: What kind of feline has stripes?.So you have the program, you’ve watched some tutorials, and you’re still lost.

#Anki app iphone reddit download

IMPORTANT: it’s unclear when this was last updated – I would personally download decks from Reddit instead. And what’s even better is that the creator of this website explained the pros and cons of each deck, so you can make an educated choice. This is a goldmine for any medical student – you can find a bunch of incredible decks here. There is also a website called where you can download a lot of the most commonly used premade decks without the chaos of Reddit.

#Anki app iphone reddit how to

There are a LOT of premade decks and guides on how to use them - go ahead, allow yourself to be sucked into the rabbithole. If you are a med student, you may want to get familiar with the subreddit called MedSchoolAnki, a safe haven for all Ank-oids old and new. There’s an enormous community around Anki, from memes to tutorials to ‘lifestyle.’ A great way to get started and learn lots is to join the Anki subreddit, linked here.

anki app iphone reddit

You can find that here(I did not make it!). Here is an infographic from Tumblr: it’s beautifully made and describes a lot of the key steps to making good Anki flashcards. They linked their Anki playlist in the comments – you can check those out as well. I recommend starting with MedSchoolInsiders, linked here. Then you’ll want to watch some tutorials these videos will introduce you to some of the powerful things you can do with Anki. For a link to the accompanying blog post, click here.įirst things first, download the program ( here). Anki has this little learning curve and I dedicated my first ever YouTube to explain precisely WHY it’s worth overcoming the curve and mastering the program. So before we get into the ‘how,’ let’s tackle the ‘why.’ Why should you dedicate your precious time to learning Anki, a program you might not have even heard of til today. Scroll down for some recommended ‘beginner’s videos,’ and be sure to check out Anki’s own manual, linked here (The Anki Manual). There is a bit of a learning curve, and that’s where the dozens of forums and YouTube videos on how to make and use Anki flashcards come in. The Theory behind Anki FlashcardsĪnki is based on “ spaced repetition“, which is defined as “a learning technique that incorporates increasing intervals of time between subsequent review of previously learned material in order to exploit the psychological spacing effect.” It’s been proven to be one of the best methods of building long-term memory (and when I say proven, that’s because it’s actually evidence-based read more about spaced repetition on Wikipedia).īasically, the app programs your reviews in a way that it ensures that you recall things you studied a long time ago, while helping you study new cards each day. If you don’t want to spend money, you can still make and review the flashcards on your computer, all for free, and even review on your iPhone with the interface on Safari/Chrome. I’ve used Anki inconsistently but frequently for the past 5.5 years, and so far it hasn’t cost me a dime – I figured it was time to give back. I spent the money on it partly because it’s more convenient, and partly as a way to support the program. My friends who bought it say it was absolutely worth it, and now that I have an iPhone I also decided to invest. Keep reading to understand what I mean… but first, let’s talk about a crucial part of any program: The Cost:Īnki costs money on iOS devices (iPhone, iPad), and as far as I know, this is the only source of income that the creator has from the program. There is an enormous Internet community dedicated to Anki, and the possibilities are endless. One of the unique things about Anki is the type of flashcards you can make - the have expanded on the classic ‘front and back’ style flashcards and revolutionized flashcard making by introducing cloze deletions, which I will talk in more detail below.

anki app iphone reddit

#Anki app iphone reddit android

I usually make the flashcards on my computer, then sync it to my Android (and now iPhone) and study there on the go. It’s a desktop program, with accompanying Android and Apple apps. What is it?Īnki is a flashcard maker and study aid. But then when I sat down to use it, it was INCREDIBLY versatile and intuitive and powerful (and anyway, it’s beauty on the inside that counts, right?). I’ll admit: the first time my friend showed it to me, I was turned off by the ugly interface. I’d like to share with you one of the most useful applications I’ve ever came across called Anki. The Most Powerful Flashcard Program I’ve Used















Anki app iphone reddit